About Nunavut

Nunavut means 'our land' in Inuktitut, the language of the Inuit. Its inhabitants are called Nunavummiut, singular Nunavummiuq. Along with Inuktitut, Inuinnaqtun, English, and French are also official languages.

Nunavut is the largest and newest of the territories of Canada; it was separated officially from the vast Northwest Territories on April 1, 1999 via the Nunavut Act and the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act. The creation of Nunavut marked the first major change to Canada's map since the incorporation of the new province of Newfoundland in 1949.

The capital of Nunavut is Iqaluit (formerly Frobisher Bay) on Baffin Island in the east. There are 25 communities spread throughout three regions: the Kivalliq, Kitikmeot, and Qikiqtaaluk.

City of Iqaluit


Iqaluit is the capital of the Canadian territory of Nunavut; its largest community, and its only city. Until 1987, the city was known as Frobisher Bay, after the large bay on the coast of which the city is situated. In 1999, Iqaluit became the capital of Nunavut after the division of the Northwest Territories into two separate territories. 

Nunavut Tourism

Getting Here


Canadian North Airlines

Canadian North flies daily from Ottawa as well as scheduled flights from Yellowknife and Nunavut Communities

Get a special festival rate by using the code: 


Valid for travel to/from Iqaluit June 26-July 05, 2018.


Frobisher Inn -Deluxe Room.jpeg

Frobisher Inn

As the largest full-service business hotel in the Eastern Arctic, the Frobisher Inn is unparalleled. When business comes to Canada’s North, the Frobisher Inn is the place to stay.